When is the Nobel Peace Prize 2017, what’s the award for and who could win it this year?


THE Nobel Peace Prize has been won by some of history’s most famous and iconic figures like Nelson Mandela, Martin Luther King, Mother Theresa and Barack Obama.

The award is one of five – including Chemistry, Literature, Physics and Medicine – set up by Swedish industrialist, inventor, and armaments manufacturer Alfred Nobel.

 The Pope is the favourite to take the Nobel Peace Prize 2017

The Pope is the favourite to take the Nobel Peace Prize 2017

What is the Nobel Peace Prize for?

According to Nobel’s will, the Peace Prize should be awarded to the person who “shall have done the most or the best work for fraternity between nations, for the abolition or reduction of standing armies and for the holding and promotion of peace congresses”.

Nobel, who died in 1896, never said why he chose peace as a category, but it is believed he was trying to compensate for his arms manufacture past.

The Nobel laureate receives a diploma, a medal, and about $1.5 million.

The winner will be announced in Oslo, Norway, on Friday, October 6, 2017.

Who could win it this year?

A bookmaking giant has made Pope Francis the favourite to land the Nobel Peace Prize.

Betting firm William Hill has declared the elderly pontiff as the frontrunner for the coveted prize.

The head of the Roman Catholic church is ahead of Syrian rescue group the White Helmets, who are offered at 5/2 odds, and German Chancellor Angela Merkel who is a 4/1 shot.

“You can make a solid case for the front three in the betting, the biggest bet is on Angela Merkel with Pope Francis attracting the most individual bets,” said William Hill spokesman Rupert Adams.

 The Syrian Civil Defence, also known as White Helmets, is also in the running

AFP or licensors
The Syrian Civil Defence, also known as White Helmets, is also in the running

One of the favourites in the running is Congolese doctor Denis Mukwege, nicknamed “the man who mends women” for his treatment of survivors of sexual violence.

The bookmakers also astonishingly have placed NFL quarterback Colin Kaepernick in seventh place at 20/1.

US President Donald Trump and election-bothering autocrat Vladimir Putin are outsiders at 66/1 and 100/1 respectively.

As the North Korean crisis threatens to boil over, this year’s prize could honour efforts to limit the spread of nuclear weapons, according to experts.

Who has won the Nobel Peace Prize?

The last 10 winners are:

2016: Juan Manuel Santos (Colombia)

2015: The National Dialogue Quartet (Tunisia)

2014: Kailash Satyarthi (India) and Malala Yousafzai (Pakistan)

2013: The Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW)

2012: The European Union (EU)

2011: Ellen Johnson Sirleaf and Leymah Gbowee (Liberia), Tawakkul Karman (Yemen)

2010: Liu Xiaobo (China)

2009: Barack Obama (US)

2008: Martti Ahtisaari (Finland)

2007: Al Gore (US) and the UN Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change

most read in world news


Boris Becker selling his Wimbledon trophies ‘after racking up £44m in debt’


Brave security guard wins fight to the death with massive 23ft PYTHON


Killer clowns carry out ‘ACID ATTACK’ on girl, 10, amid ‘It-inspired’ outbreak


How a Nazi-hunter tracked Hitler’s henchmen with a corpse tied to his car


Is this the rudest wedding pic ever? Couple simulate sex act in snap


CIA fears ANOTHER North Korea nuke test to toast anniversary of brutal dynasty



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here